This is the "General Resources" page of the "Burke U.S. History Civil War Project 2013-2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Burke U.S. History Civil War Project 2013-2014   Tags: researchprojects, socialstudies  

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.pontiac.k12.il.us/burkecivilwar2013 Print Guide RSS Updates

General Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Browse ebooks for research.

 

Books

Find books located in the PTHS library and in other libraries throughout our library system.

Find books located in college and university libraries throughout Illinois.

 

Databases

Look for full-text newspaper and magazine articles, images, and primary source materials.

Find full-text articles and other information on controversial issues. Use for persuasive papers and speeches.

World Book Advanced

Find encyclopedia articles, website links, interactive maps, historical timelines, a spanish dictionary, and much, much more .

 

 An encyclopedia similar to World Book Advanced but the information is easier to read.

All articles in the databases include text to voice which means the computer will read the article for you if you choose.

Visit the Media Center to pick up a list of usernames and passwords. You will not need them at school but will need them to access the databases outside of the building. 

 

Internet Search Tools

Sweet Search is a searchable collection of websites that have been analyzed by experts.  The experts believe these sites contain quality information.

Google is a search engine which means that a computer searches the Internet using a mathematical formula and produces a list of results.  When you use Google make sure your search is specific and your verify your sources.
Google News searches news stories posted on the Internet. 
Google Advanced Search allows you to make your searches more specific so you get better results.

 

American Memory Collection

Search the Library of Congress American Memory Collection for Primary Source documents.

Suggested Websites

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip